AAMUSTED Elections: EC Boss backtracks on assurance to start polls at 8am

Spread the love

Ussifu Mohammed, EC Boss – AAMUSTED

The assurance by the Boss of the Electoral Commission for the Student Representative Council (SRC) and the Local National Union of Ghana Students (L-NUGS) Elections, Ussifu Mohammed, to have the polls opened to students at 8:00am has failed.

Mr. Mohammed who spoke on Campus Filla on Sunday, February 26, ahead of the elections said “necessary arrangements have been put in place to forestall the repeat of the unwarranted delay that characterised the JCRC elections.”

Mynd FM sources can confirm that as at 8:50am, all 16 polling stations created on the Kumasi Campus of the Akenten Appiah-Menka University of Skills Training and Entrepreneurial Development (AAMUSTED) were having materials sorted whiles booths and boxes were arranged, awaiting the start of the voting process.

The delay according to our sources was mainly due to the late arrivals of materials as the EC Boss was captured with ballot box covers heading towards polling stations for distribution.


As a norm that has come to be associated with all student elections on campus, students were adorned in the tags of their favourite candidate, advocating and calling on their colleagues to go and cast votes for their preferred choice.

Meanwhile, the Ghana Police Service, adequately represented, has assured all parties of their readiness to ensure peace and serenity throughout the process whiles cautioning those who will try to foment trouble to desist from such act.

The 2023 elections, the third of its kind since the inception of the University which was once affiliated to the University of Education Winneba (UEW) will see student deciding on who mans the affairs of the SRC and the L-NUGS.

For the SRC Presidential race, Celestina Osei is the only female aspirant among the 5 candidates in the person of Duncan Kodzo Baidu, Sika-Wiafe Stephen, Malba Yaw Prince and Prince Aseidu Agyeman.

The L-NUGS Presidential race is a seven-man battle as the first runner-off in the 2022 elections, Yekple Shadrack has mounted a strong challenge for the big seat. The others are; Abdul-Rashid Iddrisu, Ayisi Stephen, Yaw Danso, Tandoh Kwesi Emmanuel, Misbawu Abubakar and Clement Bright Twumasi


Story by Dorah Yeboah


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • https://cast.hitzgh.com:8100/stream/1/?
  • Mynd FM Live